Voicenotes Perfect Album ?

Okay so I was excited for this Album… Was I disappointed?

Now I have mixed feeling with Charlie Puth style of music some songs I really enjoy, some songs I just can’t get into. Charlie Puth’s singles however made me excited that maybe this album would be different and would be the perfect Charlie Puth album I was looking for. This was not the case.

That being said there were a few songs, though within a few songs, I felt like a job having to listen to this. Songs that I did not like, I actually hated and for me did not hit the mark. There are songs that I enjoy were and are major Bops (though the majority of them were his singles.)

Screen Shot 2018-05-27 at 18.51.46.png

With 9 songs out of 13 making into my library though out of those songs I have probs only listened to 4. The running time of this album is 45 min (Love this length for a album.)

Moving onto the songs that stood out, “Empty Cups” and “La Girls”  were the biggest takeaways. We don’t need to talk about the singles as they are just brilliant and all very different from each other (“Attention” “How Long” and “The Way I am,” major ones for me.) “La Girls” was is the song you can’t help but sway along to. This is a typical Puth song however to a high standard with such a groovy and funky beat. You have to listen to that song as well as my favourite song from the album “Empty Cups.” I don’t have a clue why I love this song so much, It’s just my go-to song that I always have to listen to. The beat is fantastic, the singing and the lyrics are amazing, WHY IS THIS NOT A SINGLE YET??

Now onto the many issues I had with this album. His voice ( I know harsh) but I felt like it was the same throughout the whole album, nothing different or standout vocals. Shawn Mendes album which I have reviewed, changed it up with one song giving me a Justin Timberlake feelings. Were the album shines is in the instruments with amazing beats. Now songs I hated were ” If You Leave Me Now (feat Boys II Me)” “Somebody Told me” and “Change.”(feat James Taylor)” All of these songs are quite slow songs and two of the songs were features. All of these songs may not be terrible but goddam I struggled to through them. They were just a bore, and did nothing to make want to love this album. I would still say listen to these songs but they just never worked for me. Screen Shot 2018-05-27 at 18.52.57

In the end this album had many faults but was better than his original album. The lyrics were okay, the vocals were meh however the instrumentals were fantastic.  I would give “Voicenotes” a 6 out of ten meaning it’s not a perfect album.

What do you think of this album? What should I review next? Let me know in the comments below?

 

4 thoughts on “Voicenotes Perfect Album ?

Leave a comment